Prices of fuels should be increased. This will solve the problems of environmental hazards. What is your opinion?

Some individuals believe that raising the cost of fuel is the most effective method to solve environmental issues. While I accept that this policy is good to some extent, I believe that this is not the best solution because there are much better measures to reduce environmental problems. It might be a good idea to increase the price of fuel such as coal, petrol, and gas because of some reasons. Firstly, by making it more costly to purchase fuel, the government can deter people from using private vehicles. For example, if gasoline is more expensive, people will start using public transport rather than driving a car or riding a bicycle, resulting in a reduction of CO emissions, which is responsible for global warming and climatic changes. Secondly, a decrease in the demand for fuel would lead in a minimization of natural resource exploitation which would reduce the problem of waste disposal in such industries. However, I am of the opinion that there are much better methods to deal with environmental problems. The first solution is that the government should spend more money on conducting research and developing technology to use renewable energy resources including wind, tidal and solar energy instead of natural resources.The second solution is to have strict punishments such as payment of huge fines or receiving a prison sentence for people who are accused of environmental degradation. Additionally, the government should launch programs or run advertising campaigns to raise awareness about conserving nature. To recapitulate, I believe apart from increasing the price of fuel, there are more effective ways to protect the environment. In this context, both government as well society play an essential role. Government should frame strict laws and policies against the offenders and people should also understand the importance of keeping the environment clean and healthy.