Some students prefer to take a year off between school and university, to work or to travel, while others defers. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The transition period between school and college life is an important aspect for many students. While some pupil wants to take a gap of one year between these two stages to work or travel, others would like to continue their studies without any break. In this essay, I will discuss both views and provide my opinion on why the former statement takes precedence over the latter in the forthcoming paragraphs. Many students who believe that continuation of study without break has two reasons to highlight. Primarily, they feel that in this fast-paced world the competition is growing day-by-day in such a way that acquiring a job is becoming tougher year on year. The corporate giant IBM, for instance, declared that the hiring needs have been decreasing as the automation techniques are replacing the human jobs at the workplace. Apart from this, they also think that earning at an early age in their career will be an additional support to their families as they complete graduation faster than their peers. Each employee's average income is at 7 lakhs per annum, for instance, as per the corporate world, which is an early income for youngsters after graduation. Having said that, the youngsters, including me, think that a year gap between school and college brings greater value to their life because of two critical factors. First of all, if a student starts working after schooling will get hands-on practical experience to handle practical situations during college life. Students who have worked as management trainees after school, for instance, can handle business management studies and qualify the college subjects with flying colours. Adding to this, taking a break to travel the world also helps in exploring the new regions and meet different people to understand their needs. It's a proven fact from ancient times that travel always helps to open up the mind to think out of the box to come up with entrepreneurial ideas. In conclusion, While some pupils think that taking a break between school and college life is not required, others believe that it helps in many ways to achieve greater goals in life. I completely agree with the latter part of the group as the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages by bringing a new thought process to look at life and the world from a different perspective altogether.