In some countries people’s weight has significantly increased while their levels of health have decreased. What do you think may be the causes of this problem and what solutions can you suggest solving them?

An increase in one’s weight is an indiscriminate problem faced worldwide. However, in this modern age, many people are spending more time trying to reverse the effects of increasing weights in the hope to achieve a better lifestyle. One of the factors for the increase in weight is the consumption of higher levels of junk food, as compared to more nutritious meals, and the definite lack of exercise. Also, a point to be noted is the ability to get access to food, without leaving your desk, as the majority of food outlets now provides home/office delivery. For instance, in my last job, I used to work at least 10 hours a day, 5 days a week, and my lunch breaks were around half an hour. After following this lifestyle for a month, I had increased my weight by 10kgs and was having difficulties with constant head and body aches, as well as having problems with my eyes. In addition to this, people are now spending long hours working, which lead to many health-related issues, such as stress, high blood pressure, for those who are working on computers all day, neck injuries, back spasms, eye dryness and many more. Furthermore, the increased amount of pollution has also led to many respiratory ailments, amongst both young and old people alike. Some of the ways to solve the problems would be companies creating a working environment that forces the employee to move around the office. Simple things like, keeping the printer or copier in a corner location so that if the employee needs to take a print/copy, he will need to walk to the printer or copier Also they can introduce standing desks which is helpful because, sitting for long hours is known to increase the risk of certain cancers, diabetes and heart disease Alternately rather than ordering food to your home/office, people can instead walk to their nearest food outlet for getting a meal, because this will not only get their body (blood) moving but it is also noted, that looking away from a computer screen at the sky or even greenery can be relaxing to the eyes. In many countries, emphasis is also given on allocating certain areas for parks and other recreational activities, as this is seen as essential to improve the health and quality of life of the people. In conclusion, weight and lifestyle are directly related to one's level of health, and it is imperative for us to take firmer control on this if we want to lead a happier life.