Many people believe that social networking sites ( such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

It is generally accepted that social media nowadays affects individuals and society easily. While it affects both circumstances in different ways, it has one thing in common, which is a negative impact on individuals and society. Thus, this essay will elaborate on the reasons. First of all, people in today’s era use internet sites too frequently, as it is one of the most essential things in their daily activities. Furthermore, it makes a person become more individualistic, since it consumes most of their time each day. For instance, someone who mobilizes using public transportation often opens their gadgets and surfs through social media rather than talking with other passengers. Apart from that, citizens usually benchmark other people’s lives through social networking sites. Moreover, it creates competition in the society to strive for a better quality of life than the others, such as being the prettiest person in the neighbourhood or even the richest among his/her colleagues. For example, an average waged employee who follows a beauty influencer will buy products or copy the influencer’s style in order to be as pretty as the influencer. Thus, this way, she/he will spend some amount of money without considering his/her salary. In conclusion, although social media can easily impact people, it is better to not use it too often to avoid its negative impacts. In my opinion. I firmly agree that it affects our lives badly, therefore, it would be better to reduce its use of it. Thus, people can be less individualistic and not envious of other people’s lives.