Task 2: Art classes should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that it should be compulsory for high school students to study art subjects. While I suppose that art may bring several benefits to pupils in high school, I disagree that all students are obligated to join art school. On the one hand, I agree that there are some advantages to learning art in high school. To begin with, art -related lessons may entertain students, and help them relieve anxiety and stress after consecutive hours of learning. Therefore, it can protect them from mental illness. Besides, arts may support students in enhancing various soft skills including creativity, problem-solving and critical thinking, which are crucial for their future careers, especially if they work in art -related occupations. On another hand, I disagree with the idea that art classes are compulsory for all pupils in high school; instead, I believe it should be an option for those who are interested or pursuing a career path in the art industry. Firstly, these classes can place an extra burden on students ’ workload, when they have to prioritize their time and energy on subjects that are more crucial and relate to their future jobs such as languages and natural ones. Furthermore, it may be pricey for students when they have to pay an amount of money to buy learning materials including paint, and various types of pens, that not all student's families can afford. In conclusion, I agree that art classes can benefit students in certain aspects. However, I am of the opinion that it should not be compulsory for high school students to participate in these classes.