Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show history and culture of their own country rather than works in other parts of the world. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people are of the opinion that paintings that describe the history and country’s culture should be given top priority over works of art from abroad. While this thinking is valid to a certain extent, I believe that global artefacts would bring advantages to society and humans. On the one hand, promoting domestic artworks is crucial in fostering understanding and nurturing patriotism. Needless to say, all the masterpieces displayed in the museum and art galleries recreate the history and cultural values of one’s geographic origin. Furthermore, gaining knowledge from these works will ensure individuals’ love and pride for that country. For example, the War Remnants Museum in HCM city possesses a myriad of rooms with military equipment and graphic photographs depicting the evil of war and the suffering of civilians, which enhances a sense of empathy and appreciation for their motherland and ancestors. On the other hand, the significance of international pieces should not be underestimated. As a matter of fact, global historical artworks allow the public to acquire a proper understanding of other countries social and political issues as well as their distinct culture, which allows us to integrate into a multicultural society and foster a sense of globalization. For instance, besides France’s historical artworks, the Louvre museum in Paris exhibits a series of relics from diverse countries from Egyptian to European and even Islamic. This in turn helps capture a huge number of tourists from all over the world each year and expand their multifaceted knowledge, supporting the economy and international relations. In conclusion, I believe that the value of historical works is essential, but global pieces are of equal importance and should be promoted as well.