Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, the advantages of the internet bridge the gap of communication that has gotten into the lives of peoples’ businesses where meetings, discussions and training were all gone online, however, there are drawbacks to these trends. In this essay, I will discuss and explore the different factors contributing to the changes and provide my opinion. On one hand, it cannot be denied that due to the Covid-19 outbreak, individual face-to-face interaction declined. People are no longer able to bid goodbyes or say hi and hello to their colleagues at work. Thus, loosing their personal connection and affection which is essential in building work relationships. Furthermore, technical difficulties are another issue that will be faced by online users. There will be poor internet connections or problems with setting up in sharing videos, which is a common problem for people with poor computer skills, such as teachers in poor communities and not well-versed in computer technology. On the other hand, I would argue that going online brings more advantages. Firstly, it saves time and money. Before people are required to travel and work in offices for certain hours, albeit this time it allows people to stay and work from home. Therefore, they can allocate quality time to family, and to themselves and are able to attend other important events in their life. Another advantage is, flexibility, people can work in different locations and wear anything they please, as long as there is an internet connection. My friend, for instance, during the pandemic even though she was confined, she has to provide an update to her superior, she remotely works online and used video calls to discuss issues that arise at that moment. In conclusion, I would argue that the advantages outweigh the drawbacks. Although I acknowledge the negative effects of socialization and its technical difficulties, however the significant impact is essential and valuable as it saves money, and creates more time for family and self.