Some students take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. Discus the advantages and disadvantages.

Taking a year gap after completing high school to work and travel has become a popular trend among adolescents. It is believed that this approach has both positive and negative implications. In this essay, both sides will be explored, followed by my opinion. On the one hand, a gap year can provide students with more time to understand their interests, strengths and passions. It can be a valuable time for self-discovery which enables teenagers to make informed decisions about their academic studies and future careers. In fact, there is a phenomenon that a great number of young people decide to quit their educational institutions after studying for one or two years. This is because they are no longer interested in the major they chose. Additionally, spending one year travelling and working can offer students practical knowledge and real-work experience. This expertise not only helps them have a better understanding of their majors in university but also enhances their employability and adaptability to the workplace in the future. For example, the knowledge and first-hand experience about diverse cultures accumulated by travelling to several parts of the world can be an advantage for students of hospitality subjects. On the other hand, taking a year gap can have some disadvantages for students. Firstly, they may face various difficulties in re-entering the academic life which is always full of tasks and assignments. Therefore, they may feel stressed at first since the experience is not similar to what they had in the previous year. Later on, they are more likely to fall behind their peers. Another drawback is related to costs. One year of travelling can be extremely costly, including transportation costs, accommodation and food and so on. It is true that when students travel or do some temporary jobs, they might not have a stable income, so they cannot support themselves. This in turn can lead to incurred debts. In conclusion, the question of whether students should spend one year gap after finishing high school is a matter of personal preferences with valid arguments for both sides. While taking a gap year can provide students with more time to explore their interests and gain some practical knowledge and social skills that are useful for their future careers, this approach can hinder them from coming back to school and is quite costly. It is suggested that students should consider carefully the advantages and disadvantages of this tendency before deciding whether or not to delay their studies for one year.