Some children spend hours every day on smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is certainly true that youngsters tend to spend a lot of time on their phones. In this essay, I'll discuss why this might be the case and provide evidence as to why this is a negative development. There are various reasons causing this trend, one of them is that with the recent innovations and breakthroughs in technology, every aspect of life is practically found on the internet; therefore, children are somehow forced to use them that much, for example, if a pupil faced difficulties while solving his homework, he can find the solution in his smartphone, for instance, it was reported that in many schools in London, teachers require from their pupils to use the internet to solve their homework. Moreover, phones now contain a variety of fun games and activities; thus, instead of playing outdoors a kid might get so much fun just by staying at home and playing with his device. This is definitely a negative tendency that can result in terrible consequences, and addiction is a good example of that especially nowadays, kids depend on them and they are not able to accomplish any particular task without their devices, this might be detrimental to society in the long run, for instance, in Tokyo, a documentary showed that last year 65 per cent of children are addicted to their phone. Furthermore, by being on their smartphones, they get used to virtual reality. as a result, their social skills might be compromised To conclude, As I have discussed, there are various reasons why kids spend a lot of time on their phones and it is indeed a bad trend