People from cities go to university more often than those who live in the country. Some people think that the government should make it easier to enter universities for people who live outside of cities and towns by setting lower entry requirements and tuition fees.

The opportunity to go to a university is availed more by people who live in cities than those who live in the countryside. It is believed that government should take action to lower the standard of entry requirements and reduce tuition fees, making admission easier for people who reside outside of cities and towns. I agree that the cost of tuition should be reduced but I disagree that the admission requirement should become easier. To begin with, admission requirements should not be modified because this would be unfair to the students who live in the city and will challenge the students who belong to the rural areas to work harder. For example, a medical entry test is conducted every year in Pakistan so that students get a chance to study at the best medical colleges. This exam is taken by students from urban as well as rural areas. The syllabus of the exam is kept the same providing students of different areas with an equal opportunity to gain admission. As a result, by not changing the admission requirements, students won’t feel any discrimination. Furthermore, the tuition should be reduced for non-affording students living in rural areas. Their financial situation should not hinder them from going to college if they are eligible to study in the university they have applied to. For these students, scholarships and grants should be provided by the government. For example, in American universities, scholarships are granted to students who have been high achievers in their school with high GPAs and awards shown as proof of their academic performance. Thus, giving them a chance to further their education. To conclude, I believe that keeping the entry requirements the same and lowering the tuition fees with the help of scholarships will make their admission easier. The students will be motivated to get admission and their financial circumstances won’t hold them back from gaining admission.