Governments should spend time on railways rather than roads.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people claim that governments should prioritize spending money on railways rather than roads. I totally agree with this viewpoint because railways have some benefits for both countries and their citizens. To begin with, railways may be very advantageous for countries. They can contribute to the development of the countries in an economic way. In other words, the burden of building roads might be expensive, so the railways may be an affordable alternative way for the governments. Secondly, it is crystal clear that railways might play a huge role in particular circumstances like wars. They might help the countries by transporting substantial materials such as weapons or nutrition. For instance, Turkey has managed to win World War I due to its railways. They carried the most essential things for the soldiers and had a great impact on the country's destiny. Briefly, railways might contribute to countries ' economies and play a vital role in different situations. In addition, railways might be beneficial for citizens. This is because they are more economical rather than private cars which might be hard to afford for individuals. So people can travel wherever they want to go without thinking about their budget. For example, in India, it is only 50 cents to travel the whole country by train, which is a huge advantage for Indian people. Overall, railways can be beneficial for citizens. To conclude, I completely agree with this viewpoint and I am of the opinion that governments should invest in railways rather than roads.