Some people believe that online reading materials should only be used for a child to learn to read, whereas others believe only printed material should be used. Discuss both views and give your opinion. 40 mins

In the modern era, a lot of controversies surround the issue of reading in children. It is believed by some people that electronic devices are more appropriate for kids to read while others disagree and still follow the traditional ways like printed books. This essay will discuss both views and at the end, my opinion will emerge. Firstly, advocates of online reading tout its many advantages. To begin with, printed books have way far less harm for the body. Research indicates that the blue light of smartphones can interfere with sleep and also impair vision. That means that printed books can give the readers more pleasure without being concerned about its consequences. Additionally, the feeling of touching the paper can enhance the understanding of the text as well. That feeling can stimulate the part of the brain related to happiness which can increase the efficiency of learning. In 2018, for example, scholars suggested that schools shouldn' t replace paper with smart screens because they can deteriorate brain function. On the other side, online libraries can expand the accessibility of all kinds of books and reduce environmental impacts. Some individuals live in remote areas and to buy a printed book they should travel a far distance. In addition, some books are printed in limited editions and the public can' t access them. Here is where play the role of a saviour. They can download them wherever they are and enjoy the acquisition of new knowledge. Moreover, a large quantity of forests are getting destroyed to produce paper from their trees. Besides that, during the process of paper production, a lot of emissions are released into the air which can worsen the climate crisis. For instance, researchers estimate that 2 per cent of Amazon rainforests are vanishing annually and paper production accounts for 1.2 per cent of it. To conclude, I don' t endorse E- books and I think they aren' t a good alternative to printed ones because of health issues they can cause. I hope in the future scientists find an appropriate and environmentally friendly substance to make books from and then, the earth will be happy too.