In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Nowadays, in some cultures, parents tell their children to work hard in every condition if their kids really want to attain what they want. This situation has numerous positive influences on kids, like high motivation levels, as well as drawbacks, such as the loser mindset. On the one hand, a great effect of moving children to work hard for their dreams is the motivation. Thanks to its ability to convince kids about being successful and to make them act, the most necessary thing for children is the motivation they have. For example, a child who is interested in playing football wants to be a professional football player, but he has to go to training and improve his skills rather than playing in the streets. Even if training regularly is neither easy nor amusing, the motivation he has persuades him to continue his training program. Hence, motivation which is created by the faith that hard work results in success. On the other hand, the idea that not giving up can obtain everything has some important disadvantages, like thinking he/she is a loser. Mostly, kids aim for the unachievable one and sacrifice all of the time and energy he/she has for reaching it. Unfortunately, even though they spend enormous energy to be successful, kids ’ belief that hard work pays off unsurprisingly disappears when they can not reach their goals. Therefore, the confidence level of a child who thinks he/she is unsuccessful decreases significantly and it creates a destructive influence on the future life of the kid. Thus, the individual who did not achieve his/her childhood dreams despite working hard tends to avoid the possible opportunities due to the sense of being a loser again. To sum up, despite the fact that the idea that a person who tries enough always attains what he/she wants positively affects kids to create motivation, it might create unconfident people who think himself/herself as a loser. Parents should be careful and approach their kids in the most beneficial way.