Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries. What are the reasons for this? How serious are the effects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

At the present time, an increasing number of people are concerned about childhood obesity. It is said that many countries in the world are facing a growing issue of childhood obesity. The following essay will discuss both the causes and effects of this problem. It is obvious that there are several causes that lead to childhood obesity. The first root cause of this phenomenon is that children have unhealthy diets. To be more specific, nowadays, parents are too busy to prepare nutritious meals for children, and they often allow their children to eat fast food and drink a lot of carbonated soft drinks, such as hamburgers, fried chicken, cokes, and so on. Secondly, another important factor contributing to this phenomenon is the lack of physical activities. This is due to the fact that with the growth of technology, children tend to spend more time indoors. For instance, children often sit in front of screens to watch television or play video games instead of playing sports outdoors. There are some effects that this problem causes. Firstly, this issue results in the fact that pediatric obesity negatively affects the physical health of children. Specifically, obese children lack good nutrients and resistance, which leads to a decrease in their immune systems and puts them at risk of suffering from other diseases, such as diabetes or high blood pressure. Another effect is that children ’s mental health is also affected by obesity. For example, obese children often feel more shy and lose confidence in crowded places. Last but not least, this issue may be a burden on nations’ healthcare systems. To sum up, there are some obvious causes and effects related to childhood obesity. We should take effective steps to improve these modern-day issues.