Global warming is one of the biggest threats to our environment. What causes global warming? What solutions are there to this problem?

Climate change is having a predominant effect on the planet's ecosystem and all the living organisms on it are facing the dangers of it. This essay will first discuss the causes of global warming and later provide some solutions to counteract its effects. The chief contributors to the rapid change of climate are the greenhouse emissions and deforestation. Humans, for their progress and comfort, are using the natural resources in an unrestricted manner and are damaging the environment. Either it is emissions from power plants or transportation, these are being directly released into the atmosphere where they are trapping the sun's heat in the lower layer of the earth. This is not only causing high temperatures, but also is altering the weather patterns. Also, the rapid deforestation of the forest lands is reducing the carbon sink and causing more greenhouse gas to accumulate the atmosphere. Nonetheless, there are a few potential solutions that can be implemented to solve the issue. Firstly, the government should pass strict regulation on the cutting down of forest lands. It should also create awareness among its citizens to plant more trees. Furthermore, it should invest heavily on renewable energy source like solar, wind and hydro and reduce dependency on the conventional way to generate energy. People should be encouraged to use public means of transportation. For citizens who prefer cars, the government should provide tax exemption for electric vehicles, so that it could encourage more people to move from gasoline-based vehicles to electric vehicles. To conclude, although global warming is a serious issue, it can be controlled if proactive steps are taken by the government as well as the individuals.