In order to solve traffic problems, Vietnamese government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

It is quite common these days for the Vietnamese government to tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation to solve traffic problems. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this solution. On the one hand, there are several reasons why taxing private car owners heavily is beneficial. A common reason is that if more and more individuals own cars in Vietnam, it will become a huge problem in road traffic because our country’s roads are very small and cannot accommodate too many large vehicles. That’s why the roads in Ho Chi Minh City are often jammed with traffic, partly due to the population, the rest is due to too much large vehicle traffic, so the city has banned large trucks from circulating from 5am to 10pm every day. Another cause is the circulation of many large vehicles that cause damage to the roads. For example, recently, many city roads have been rebuilt due to severe damage, with many deep holes that made traffic impossible. On the other hand, there are a number of disadvantages of taxing private car owners heavily and using the money to improve public transportation that people should take into consideration. One obvious drawback is that high taxes can make a car ’s cost higher; therefore, an individual who wants to own it will have to work harder. It can be said that with the average salary in Vietnam, they will work for a long time to get it. Another negative effect is that high taxes to improve public transportation will negatively impact labour capacity and demand. For example, they feel that buying a car is unnecessary because there are public services, leading to a decrease in labour productivity and the country’s average income will decrease. In conclusion, the Vietnamese government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. It could bring about certain benefits, but its negative consequences should not be overlooked.