The First car on British roads appeared in 1888. By the year 2020, there may be 20 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

The number of cars on British roads is continuously increasing. In addition to alternative commute modes being encouraged, global laws may be introduced to manage the number of vehicles on the roads. This essay will explain why encouraging alternative commute modes is imperative to reduce traffic numbers on British roads but why global governance may not be the best means of achieving this outcome. Mass transit modes must be promoted in order to reduce vehicle numbers. Public transport such as buses and trains are particularly important and people should be incentivized to use them. For example, local governments could subsidies the cost of public transit or even make it free so that people utilise it more frequently. Consequently the promotion of public transport, such as buses and trains, will help in significantly reducing the cars from British roads. International legislation is not the way to control car numbers because each country is different. Laws need to take into consideration the local realities of individual countries. For example, car control in Ghana will be very different to car number control in the US because the two countries have very different economies and infrastructure. Therefore, national laws or even local laws, as opposed to international laws would be much more effective at controlling vehicle numbers. This essay discussed how mass commute modes could be encouraged and the effectiveness of international legislation to decrease the number of cars on the roads. In my opinion, promoting alternative transport modes is essential; however legislating at the local or national level would be much more effective because it would be more nuanced.