Using a computer everyday can have more negative than positive effects on your children. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It is stated that the daily application of computers can do more harm than good to children. In my opinion, I completely agree that the disadvantages of using a computer everyday outweigh the benefits it has to offer children. In recent times, it can be seen that children spend twice as much time than usual using computers every day and this has drastically affected their physical activities. Children no longer engage in physical things such as, playing with toys and taking a walk, they prefer to press their gadgets all day long without any distractions. This often results to different health problems like, obesity, bad vision among others. Take for example, my 15 years old nephew is suffering from obesity due to his parentage negligence, after school his daily routine is to go to his room and press computer throughout the day without stepping out for a walk. I also heard of a similar situation where a 7 year old boy nearly lost his sight as a result of constant use of computers, his parent's excuse for not limiting his screen time was that the child has a passion for technology and they wanted to encourage him to achieve his dream, not knowing that the risk involved in consistent usage of computers by children is very high. Also, overusing of computers can affect children's interpersonal relationship and social skills with their peers because they get too addicted with using computers and start restraining from socialising and interacting with their friends. Many teachers express their concern to parents that using computers too often can cause a delay in their children's social development because every child is required to socialise and interact with other human beings. For instance, a child that does not interact with people might have challenges in expressing their feelings to others. In conclusion, Parents must endeavour to limit their children's screen time and allow them engage in physical activities and also have time to socialise with their peers because it helps them with the necessary skills needed. It is evident that the harm the daily use of computers causes in children is more than what they stand to gain.