In many western countries there is an increasing number of couples choosing to have no children. What are the advantages and disadvantages to couples having no children?

The size of an average family is becoming smaller and smaller in recent years. This is because many married couples decide to lead a life without children in the majority of Western countries. This essay will discuss associated benefits and downsides of this trend. The advantages of having no children are that a married couple will have more time and money for their own compared to a couple with their offsprings. The cost of raising a child in increasingly higher and some couples cannot simply afford to have one. The average cost of bringing up a child is approximately 200,000 dollars. If there was no children, a family can save this money and use it for their interests such as travelling and buying a house. Furthermore, the couple will not suffer from parenting stress and anxieties. Thus, there are some associated benefits of a family without children. Nonetheless, childlessness can be boring and there will be no one to look after you when you get older. For example, the phenomenon called lonely death, in other words, dying alone is becoming controversy in recent years. Many elderly people are dying alone without being noticed for a while, even though they live in a big city in Japan. If there were children who look after their older family members, this would not happen that often. Despite the associated financial burden and stress, it is worthwhile bringing up children with consideration to having a support in later life. To recapitulate, while child free couples might enjoy their free time and extra money, which they can spend on their own, having children will give them a support in later life. Regardless of the pros and cons, young couples should make a choice which would be the best for them.