some developed countries have reduced the number of school hours. Is this a positive or a negative development?

The topic asks if the decreased number of school hours in developed countries have put a positive or negative impact? Firstly, as a student and as per the education system of my country, I believe that this practice is beneficial. Less school hours will give more time to the students for the rest of the activities or to pursue their hobbies. For an example, if a child wants to become a musician then he needs to learn it by investing time and money in it, so if he gets the opportunity to get free from the school earlier than he will be able to give appropriate time to his passion or hobby and will be able to make his career in the respective field. Secondly, the more one will get indulged in other activities be it mental or physical that ultimately will benefit that person to keep himself healthy and also to use and relax his mind by doing what he likes. For an instance, if a child is interested in playing chess or football than in the spare time he will not only be able to follow and enjoy his interests, but will also be able to keep himself healthy because a happy and healthy body and mind leads to a joyful individual. Overall, I would like to say that I really got impressed and excited when I came to know about such education system because such practices give you lots of opportunities to fulfil your dreams, to work and earn while you are studying and also to take out a good time to spend with your family and friends.