Some students take a year off between school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some students take a rest for one year and do the work or journey before they matriculate due to some merits, whereas others do not do so because of some demerits. I would argue that the advantages of the gap year to do work or travel overweigh its disadvantages. On the negative side, one gap year of entering universities has some disadvantages. To begin with, the delaying matriculation for one year leads one year lateness for graduation, and it affects student’s job haunting badly. For example, in Japan, the almost all students graduate from their universities when they are 22 years old, and then they start working for companies in the same age. Thus, if students have one gap year to do work or something, they have to begin their job hunting when they are 23 years old, and they unfortunately are likely to have difficulty in getting their own jobs. On the positive side, this rest time for one year between a high school and university to do travel or work has advantages over disadvantages. First of all, one significant merit to do so is that students can understand their curiosities and necessary skills for a job. For instance, if they have an internship for a year, they can know about required skills for the job and they are able to take appropriate courses to get needed skill sets for their ideal work. For another example, if students take trip for one year, they possibly understand what they really want to do in their future in the way of the travel. In conclusion, I personally find that the benefits of a gap year before entering universities is outweighed by its drawbacks. One year delay to matriculate may affect their success in their job huntings negatively. However, a gap year lets students understand their interest and this leads them to get appropriate jobs.