People attend colleges or universities for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge etc.). Why do you think people attend colleges or universities?

People all over the world are increasingly enrolled in universities as the demand for a more educated workforce arises. In my opinion, I believe that people attend colleges for three main reasons, to improve their career prospects, to gain new knowledge on subjects that they are interested in and to pursue a specialised career path that requires an academic degree. With the rapid development of our modern society, it is difficult for one to secure a high paying job without having a university qualification these days. Although there are exceptions to this rule, the safer route for most of us would be to pursue a higher learning, thereby enhancing our career prospects. For people who would like to work white collared jobs, going to an institution of higher education will be the only way that will bring them towards their goal. Having said that, some blue collared jobs do require college education nowadays as well, hence directing the population into university. The second reason for people enrolling in higher educational institutions is that some people are passionate about learning more about the subject that they love, and college provides a conducive environment for them to do so. For instance, furthering one’s studies in subjects like theology and biology is only possible in college. Lastly, in careers like medicine, dentistry and law, being a graduate is the minimum requirement into these jobs. For people who aspire for such occupations, going to university is a must, as doing so will equip them with the necessary knowledge and skills in order to perform the role well. To summarise, people go to varsities to enhance their employability into white collared jobs, further their studies on subjects that they are interested in and meeting the minimum requirements for specialized positions like medicine and law. These developments are positive for our society as a whole and governments and universities adjust their offers accordingly.