Tourism is becoming increasingly important and a source of income to many countries, but its disadvantages shouldn't be overlooked . to what extent do you agree or disagree

Revenue generated by tourism is of no doubt important, as it can help to take care of some aspects of a country's budget. Nevertheless, it is needful to say that there are some other effects of tourism, which may not be so beneficial. There could an increase in the crime rate as a result of vacations activities. Also, the cost a country incurs to set up attraction centres when compared to the revenue it brings may not be so profitable. Any part of the world where excursionist troop in to visit has to make a heavy investment into such attractions in order to make them appealing to individuals. Major expenditure is usually embarked upon by the host to develop their monuments so that they can meet up with the necessary standards. A country's point of attraction may initially be crude; not having the ability to draw individuals to it. It would therefore be necessary that these points be developed to make them appealing. Many of these countries, may not have such funds, to give their attraction points the face lift needed so they borrow, thereby putting the nation into serious debt, which might take future generations to pay off. Also, after investing a huge amount of capital into tourism, there is the probability that it won't be as profitable as expected due to other factors which are beyond the nation's control leaving them with little or no return on investment. It is also worthy to note that tourism has a huge potential of increasing the crime rate in an economy. First of all, the credibility of a tourist cannot be completely ascertained. For instance, a thief who is trying to escape from his/her country of residence as a result of the atrocity he/she committed may go to another place under the pretence of vacation, and may continue to perpetuate crime where he/she is being hosted. Thereby causing harm to the country. Also, such foreigners are likely to have a negative influence on the natives, especially the ones with feeble minds, increasing number of criminals a country has to deal with. In conclusion, the cons of tourism as explained above are not what should be overlooked by any serious country. Although, it is argued that tourism is beneficial in terms of revenue that could be generated from it, the dangers of not putting a check on the negative effects it brings to a nation could be catastrophic