In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In some countries, taking a year before starting university to discover the world and work is regarded as an advantage. For many adolescents, this habit has its benefits and drawbacks. Taking a gap year is an enriching experience for many young adults. After finishing high school, many teenagers suffer from being lost and not knowing their true purpose in life. However, if they take time to reflect on what they love and experience working or volunteering in different industries, they may find what field they like the most, thus, they can choose their university major easily. Furthermore, the lack of experience in life is another problem that adolescents face nowadays. For example, teenagers who spent their whole lives studying do not have the sufficient experience required for universities, due to that, travelling and working for a year can obviously enhance their knowledge. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to taking a gap year. One of the most obvious drawbacks is skipping a year instead of going to university. Many adolescents do not favour taking gap years and are already confident about their experiences and purpose in life. These young adults start university before their peers who decide to take a year off, leading to a difference in education levels between people of the same age. An additional issue is financing. Some young adults wish to travel to places they dreamt of visiting to get to know their culture or to volunteer there. However, due to the lack of money, they cannot go which leads to disappointment and frustration. To conclude, a gap year undeniably has a positive impact on adolescents, yet there will always be drawbacks in terms of the education gap between them and their peers as well as financial issues.