Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

University is a place where individuals discover their potential future careers. While many agree to focus on their own major and earn a qualification for their course, some still want to take courses outside of the main subject. I believe that enriching our main field with additional skills can benefit us more in the future. Getting a qualification for a major that one had chosen would initially be the ideal situation for a university student. It could be seen as being serious and dedicated to their own study, which might be great in the eyes of a recruiter. Only studying the main subject also means that someone can understand the major more deeply, gaining knowledge which might be exclusive to those who are studying the course only. To illustrate, a doctor who spent 15 years of his/her life can achieve a title for their field and be considered as an expert. However, a university is a place where people usually find their passion and identity. This stage of life can also be a place where they understand what they want to do after getting a degree. Studying other subjects would benefit those who feel unfit with their current major. It helps them to get to know their own likings and hopefully would be able to lead them to the career path they desire. Studying other subjects also contributes to a broader understanding of various things in general. In this era, this would be much needed as the requirements and needs of job recruiters are increasing and more demanding lately. All in all, although having a deep understanding of a major that one pursues would be great, I personally think it is more important to understand what we truly enjoy learning to continue to follow it for the career path in the future.