It is said that people who read books with preasure have more developed imaginations and better language skills than people who like watching TV. Agree or disagree ?

Some people argue that reading is better for enhancing positive thinking while other groups say that watching TV is more beneficial. I completely agree that the thinking capability and language skills of a person are better developed by reading than watching TV. First of all, reading books provides active learning for learners while the latter is a passive one. Reading can contribute a lot to language skill, people who read books frequently can improve their language skill which is very essential in modern society, reading also can greatly enhance people’s imagination. For example, the individuals make different images in their minds when they read some articles or sentences and then use their imagination to put the story together, whereas the TV audience just passively accepts information from the TV screen. Secondly, watching television does not develop a person’s skill in high-level thinking, vocabulary, or recognition of words. TV programs focus more on pictures than on words. In fact, it can directly see that words in almost books are formal and literate than spoken language shown on TV. The quick change of visuals and the fast pace of the scenes cause the visuals to dominate the speech. Additionally, nowadays, television programs are much more commercial and always try to produce programs with commercial aspects, therefore it may take negative impacts on young people, especial decrease the ability learning speaking in baby. In conclusion, it seems to me that reading books is better than watching TV not only in developing imagination and language skills but also in many other ways. Therefore, maintaining the reading habit is an indispensable part of today’s life.