Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Until now, many species of specific plants and animals have disappeared around the world. Although some people insist that this is the major environmental problem of our era, I would argue that global warming is a more serious problem. There are some good arguments which show us how a serious problem the disappearance of particular species of plants and animals on our earth is. This problem has been caused by the actions of us, such as cutting a lot of rainforests to build cities. These actions have made various species of plants and animals extinct, robbing them of their habitats. If we continue to take such actions from now on, the ecosystem will be more seriously damaged, and it will make many more species died out. The demonstration is that because of the disturbance ecosystem and food chain caused by us, a species for a prayer become extinct, which causes starvation for this predator. Despite the above arguments, I strongly believe that we need to pay as much attention to global warming as we can. This environmental problem leads to a rise in temperature in our world. Then, this makes the polar ice caps melt and sea levels rise. This situation creates the fear of many lowland areas on earth going under the sea. Due to the rise in temperature, also, more extreme weather conditions may happen and, flooding and droughts can become more common. These adverse impacts of global warming on the environment must endanger not only plants and animals but also even us. For example, many areas in the world have become deserts and this has made it harder for us to obtain enough water to live. This is a bad effect of global warming. To conclude, it seems to me that taking care of global warming as an environmental problem is more significant compared with the extinction of specific species of plants and animals.