The government is spending a lot of money to discover life on other planets. Some people think that government is wasting money and should spend more money addressing the problems of public. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, space exploration has been a debatable issue among societies. Some people believe that investing in this industry is a waste of money and the authorities should use that money in solving problems on earth instead. Personally, I fairly disagree with this view for a number of reasons. On the one hand, people argue that the governments should not continue to fund those projects for a number of reasons. The first one is that there are still so many people are living under the line of poverty on our planet. Therefore, it seems like putting capital in space programs while thousands are dying of hunger is illogical and unreasonable. Moreover, there are many public services that need better improvement to enhance life standard for/of generations such as education, medicine, and public transportation. On the other hand, although some people are against this idea, my view is that exploring the universe benefits humanity in many aspects. First of all, it is the foundation that helps human being bring technologies to a new/greater level. Not many acknowledge that multiple products and innovations used in the daily life are results of space research. As more satellites are orbiting around the world, providing a considerable amount of information, human are able to live in the most innovative life. In addition to this, space travel also helps human understand more about their home. By watching the globe from the cosmos, people could study Earth sciences, weathers, climate change and many more, and thereby broaden their horizons. To sum up, I hold the opinion that the governments ought to allocate the budget appropriately so that both discovering life on planets and tackling problems on the Earth are arranged reasonably.