In the past, the older generation were a source of knowledge and experience. nowadays, the older generation have little understanding or experience of the modern world. has this had any negative impact on the way the elderly are treated by society and the family? what could be done to solve this situation?

The 21st century is the era of gadgets. There is a huge generation gap between the youngsters and their grandparents in these times. Earlier they used to be the source of knowledge and experience, but the numerous inventions such as the internet, has had a negative impact on the older generation. In the earlier days, grandparents used to be the role models for the kids owing to their knowledge and experience. On the contrary, these days, kids see them as illiterate and backward. There has been tremendous development in the field of science and technology in the past few decades. Nowadays, almost every task is done with the use of machines, unlike performing them manually like old times. As a result, many elders find it difficult to operate machines and gadgets. Due to which, youngsters look down upon them. For instance, lack of using social media makes elderly feel aloof from the society and difficult to converse with the children. The simplest way to solve this situation is to reduce the generation gap between the old and the young. This requires a bit of effort from both the sides. Social media can be of help here. The kids can run campaigns over social media to encourage people to be soft towards elderly. For example, they can share some videos of them having fun while playing with the grandparents, or cooking some traditional family recipe together. Elders must also try to leave behind the old thinking and try to be friends with the children by playing with them. This way children can teach them to operate the gadgets of the present generation. To conclude, the immense development in the field of science and technology, had a negative impact on the lives of the old. This has widened the barrier between the old and the young. To bridge this, both the sides should try to put efforts and maintain a friendly relationship.