Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Shopping is an activity in which customers browses the available good and services presented by one or more retailers. It is often argued that, buying clothes is the most common idle hours entertainment for most of the youngsters around the globe. The reason behind this trend is the huge influence of social media and fast fashion on the teenagers and adults. According to my perspective, this is a negative development and, this essay will explain the points to justify my statement. To begin with, there is no doubt that young generation is greatly influenced by the social media influence. Alongside, social media, fast fashion brands are manipulating young adults to buy more and, because of this, they start to purchase unnecessary items which they actually do not need or want, but just for the show off and peer pressure they purchase it. For instance, when they bought things needlessly either they end up throwing it in the garbage or donating it. Additionally, the clothes which fast fashion brands make are usually of cheap material which does not last long. Secondly, when youngsters go out for shopping, they need cash. But, they do not know how to spend that money wisely, and most of the time, they will either run out of the cash, before they spend it on the right things which they actually need or, end up in huge debts. Because, not all the young adults come from rich families, but because of the domination of brands and fast trend and marketing of the items leave them to buy it needlessly. In conclusion, more and more youngsters now spend their time shopping because they want to follow the latest style rends and to impress their friends. However, it is a negative development as it is a complete waste of time, energy and most importantly money.