Some people believe that many of the problems in today's world are caused by a lack of cultural understanding. What can be done to help people understand cultures which are different from their own?

In modern life people travel internationally more often and consequently they will find multiple cultural differences with their nations. Sometimes these contrasts create issues between visitors and residents and it is thought that the main reason of these problems is the ignorance of traditions and habits. I certainly agree that the cause is the lack of knowledge of other's cultures and that a previous research before travelling will avoid misunderstandings. Firstly, it is a mistake to go on an adventure overseas without knowing anything about the place you will visit to. It is important to investigate the main behaviours of residents that you will find over there. For example, if you are travelling to Japan, you would have to know that they have an special ways to say hello and thank others putting their hands together and reclining the upper side of their body forward, if you just go there and want to shake hands you may put them in trouble. You have to prevent the disruption of their social harmony. Secondly, if you from a country where you are used to pay everything with credit or debit cards, you should know that it does not work like that in other countries. For instance, if you are travelling to a country where informal businesses are pretty common you should take some cash with you before arriving. It is enormously important to find out how societies work wherever you are going to. To sum up, It is highly relevant to research how people and social systems in other nation work, especially if you are visiting it in the near future. This previous action will avoid misunderstandings or issues with that population.