More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

When it comes to allowing children to play on computers, many parents give it much thought whether this will increase children’s technical skills or not. Despite the obvious advantages such as computer literacy and the ability to cope with state-of-the-art technology, this approach could be harmful for kids as well. In this essay merits and demerits will be analysed before my own perspective is given. One the one hand, computers and tablets are immensely beneficial. With their help, children who have a thirst for knowledge can get a ton of theoretical and practical skills. I can put my nephew as an example, having been gifted a computer for his birthday, Instead of playing games, he became enthusiastic about programming and mathematics. Ultimately, these skills turned out to be incredibly useful in his adult life and helped him to become a person who makes an exceptionally good living. So, this makes clear, computers are important for developing human capital. One the other hand, computers, tablets and mobile phones could be harmful, without proper parental control. People, children in particular, have a tendency to mess around and play video games instead of learning new skills. There is a numberless quantity of examples when children became way too obsessed with video games and lost any interest in their studies and even life. There is no point in saying that parents have to always control the content and encourage children to broaden their horizons with computers. To conclude, I entirely support the idea, that parents should allow their children to spend time with a computer in order to gain new knowledge, and they have to supervise what exactly their children spend time on. In my opinion, the advantages which children could gain in their childhood, could be extremely helpful in their adult life, which, without any doubt, outweigh possible drawbacks such as addiction to video games.