Some people think that it s better to impose higher taxes on unhealthy food, while other disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Controlling the consumption of unhealthy food through higher taxes is a debatable policy. While some people consider it an efficient measure to determine people to eat healthily, others disagree. This essay will discuss both views in more details. To begin with, some people think that imposing higher taxes on unhealthy food will convince people to consume the healthier one. If the poor-quality product would be at the same price with a good-quality one, then people would choose the latter. In addition, the companies would be discouraged to produce unhealthy products if they had to pay more for them. For example, if a company were to choose between producing artificial tomato sauce, which costs ten cents plus two-dollar taxes and making it with fresh tomatoes, which costs one dollar with no other taxes, then the companies would definitely opt for the latter alternative. Therefore, an unfriendly financial measure could have positive effects not only on companies’ food production but also on people’s consumption. On the other hand, other people consider the opposite. They might argue that this is not a fair and equal marketing policy. They could also claim that people should have the freedom to choose what to eat. Moreover, all the companies are following the same law, so the taxes should also be the same for all of them. For example, both Coca Cola and Santal produce drinks. It would be unfair for Coca Cola to pay higher taxes because it is considered unhealthy. As long as both companies declare the content of the product and people are free to choose, they should not be treated differently. All in all, paying higher taxes for some questionable-quality products could be seen as discrimination. In conclusion, controlling food distribution through differentiated taxes is questionable. Some people consider it helpful to motivate people to eat fresh food, while others think it is an abusive measure. In my opinion, most of the people need to be guided for their own good, sometimes even through restrictive measures, so I believe higher taxes could have a better effect on people’s health in the long term.