The dangers of smoking are well known , yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this ? How can we reduce smoking in the society?

Over the past decades, despite knowing that the addiction of smoking has a plethora of disastrous effect on health, human beings are continuously following this pattern. Notwithstanding, this discourse delves into the rational behind this unfortunate occurrence, and subsequently, will put forward the panacea to arresting this worrying trend. Apparently, the exponents that postulate that cigarette smoking is nothing new in this modern era and societies know the side effects - have their own justification. Put differently, cigars have been used by people are responsible for life threatening conditions such as; lung cancer, oral cancer, blood cancer, and other respiratory diseases. In addition to that, passive smoking is more dangerous than the active smoking for the other persons like pregnant women, children and vulnerable. Moreover, youngsters are motivated to addiction by the pressure of peer group and the attitude of young age where the hormonal changes cannot stop them to vapor a weed which causes physical and medical disorders in small age. To exemplify, according to a survey by the London University in 2016, 50% of teenagers faced respiratory conditions because of active smoking and 30% adults died because of passive smoking. However, it is not still late if people want to see a healthy globe without addictions which is quite difficult, but not impossible at all. Firstly, the governments can start the awareness campaign by hosting celebrities and great leaders who really can leave a positive impact on smokers. Secondly, the authorities can impose high duty charges and taxes on the companies and business trades that are producing the cigarettes. Thirdly, the strict laws regarding smoking places by permitting fog only in designated area, and charging fines if they caught smoking around children and vulnerable. To epitomise, the mayor of Kerela, India had banned cigarette selling in 1999 and after 10 years they found a sharp decline in cases of lung cancers in a city. To conclude, having explored both slants, I reiterate that smoking is very popular and one of the aboriginal trends which is responsible for the plethora of deaths; nonetheless, both people and governments should work together to decrease the consumption along with a reduction in the production.