As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

Developing countries often face numerous hurdles as they progress. Environmental damage is definitely on top of the list among these challenges, which is directly linked with the industrial development that ultimately more traffic on the roads. As people opt to contain their own vehicle, keeping in view that is has several benefits, however, this has turned out to be the first stone towards damaging the environment. To begin with, at the individual level, having a personal car often eases in travel and comfort in scheduling the task to be performed and also elevate the social economic status of an individual in the society. For instance, consider a territory sales manager for confectionery products, this job includes more than 70% travelling time and hardly to have a full day in office. Another example, could be a service engineer in the health care industry who is almost 24 hours on call and he has to be present whenever needed regardless of the travelling concerns. For above mentioned cases, having a personal mode of transportation become significantly important. Alternatively, if everyone goes for a personal car regardless the necessity to have it, then, in the long run if the practice continues it can have fetal damages to the ecological cycle. The best illustration of this example can be a person who has a fixed hour in-house job and there is absolutely no requirement to travel around for work purposes. In this case his vehicle will remain parked almost 70% of the life span and with almost no fruitful utilization and obviously, greater damage to personal finances in the form of taxes paid against it. To recapitulate, being a responsible citizen, one should take the decision wisely and should have to have considered all the pros and cons of having a personal asset in the form of a car. I believe, for the conservation of the environment and to play a role in reducing the damage to it, the individual should go for the option of public transport or shared transport facilities rather than adding the crowd on the road. Undoubtedly, healthy environment has the major importance towards the healthy life.