The number of children that read books for fun has dropped dramatically in recent years. What are the reasons for this? How can we encourage children to read more?

In today’s technologically advanced world, the number of children reading books as a hobby is decreasing drastically. Various reasons can be drawn from such a pattern. This essay will discuss those reasons as well as the measures that can be taken to encourage children to read more. There are numerous reasons for this decline in reading. Firstly, easy availability of various digital gadgets and other sources of entertainment detract children from reading. For example, various games on mobile phones and touch screen tablets have become a popular pass time these days. Secondly, children who want to read books are considered boring and not cool which has led to more and more children pursuing all kinds of socially acceptable activities to fit in their social circle. For example, a research conducted in the USA proves that more than 70% of school children can be spotted at various game zones rather than libraries. Finally, children tend to imitate their parents. For instance, when they see their parents working on computers all the time, they would want to do that too. In short, various other activities discussed in this paragraph have become more lucrative for children these days. While this problem may seem intractable, there are solutions available. The first solution is limiting the time children spent on their mobile phones and iPads. This would enable children to spend more time reading books. Another option would be for schools to create reading groups, this would make reading books invigorating. Lastly, parents should take Appropriate measures to introduce their children to reading from an early age. Thus, setting a good example for them which will encourage their children to read books. To conclude, this essay discusses the problems associated with decline among children. While the issues are evidently clear the measures discussed can be taken to alleviate them.