Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people make? Has this been a positive or negative development?

There is no denying that technology has changed our manner to communicate with other people. Some specialists say to use only the Internet to interact with other individuals could harm our emotions. However, other people claim it is more practical. Millions of people have adopted technology to communicate, with both positive and negative outcomes, though I tend to believe the drawbacks are greater than the benefits. The obvious disadvantage is that users are creating more and more virtual relationships, and no real contact appears necessary. To illustrate, there are couples who are in a serious relationship and do not even know each other personally. As a result, we have families and friends that are becoming distant to each other and lacking emotional connection. Research has shown it is crucial to the human being to interact face-to-face, in addition, by reducing time spent online, people were able to diminish depression, anxiety, and loneliness. Another drawback is that people are becoming addicted to social media platforms, such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. Consequently, they spend most of their free time in front of a screen, which could harm them physically and emotionally. For example, teenage way of life has completely changed from what it was twenty years ago. Now there is a dramatic decrease in their ability to interact with others on a speaking level. There are, however, some advantages. Currently is faster and more practical to communicate and do business with people from other countries. One clear example is that you can study from home, using services like Skype or Zoom, which allow you to take classes with teachers from all over the world. To conclude, to be connected with people and truly understand their feeling is essential to human being’s life and it is only possible when we are eye to eye. Social media platforms alienate us from our families and people we love.