Having more money and less free time is better that having less money and more free time. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

There has been an evergoing debate between working hard to earn more money or sparing time for personal activities. I believe, even though it is vital to be successful in life and earn a decent income, it should not come at a cost of essential leisure time. People tend to work extended hours so that they can get recognised for their deliveries, which will eventually lead to progression and higher earnings. If someone is an entrepreneur, he needs to work extensively to establish his business and make it successful. This will lead to financial stability, which is important to support the family with fundamental needs such as children's educational expenses or purchasing a place to live. Moreover, in order to gain respect and status in society, it is essential to have a healthy bank balance. However, studies have shown that people who earn less but have more time to spend on themselves or their loved ones are happier. For instance, the happiness index for the Scandinavian countries is the highest, where work life balance is given more importance. In these nations, many people prefer to pursue their hobbies or engage in other social activities rather than working hard for extra money. Furthermore, it is even detrimental to children's development if their parents do not spend sufficient time with them. To conclude, albeit, people need to work hard to earn a handsome salary, they must draw a balance between their financial requirements and personal time. There are significant drawbacks for people who do not spare time for themselves or their family members.