Many offenders commit more crime after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle with the issue?

The numbers of criminal activities by a lot of criminals increase after they have served their first sentence. A main reason for this phenomenon is very little societal acceptance for such people. However, this issue can be taken on effectively if society accepts these criminals and gives them another chance to be good citizens again. First -time offenders tend to commit more crimes again after the first punishment ends because the society does not consider them its part again. This unacceptance then creates a kind of negative impact in the minds of criminals, who then do not want to improve. Thus, they continue their strides of crimes. For example, a case study was done by crime.com last year, in which it interviewed criminals who were imprisoned for the second time. 97% of those criminals cited the lack of acceptance by fellow people for them as the only reason that had led them to commit crimes again. The problem can actually be dealt with by accepting first -time offenders and giving them another chance to be good citizens again. When such people are given a chance to be part of the honest citizenry again, they do not let go of it. Therefore, first -time criminals then change into normal responsible individuals of the society again. For instance, in the aforementioned survey by crime.com, the same 97% also stated that had they been given respect and normal treatment by fellow citizens, they would never have committed the crimes again. To sum up, although societal unacceptance can make first -time criminals commit crimes again, societal acceptance can change them into honest individuals. Thus, the latter is a good method to deal with the issue.