Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this modern age, children are very much aware of their likes and dislikes. It has been a dilemma for the parents to whether or not to allow youngsters to decide for themselves. However, they should be able to make their own picks and learn from their experiences, even though it makes them more self-centric. Moreover, it will make them self-dependent. Nowadays, people try to control their child's behaviour in order to make them become more accepted in society and teach them to think of the family before their own needs. For instance, mothers always want to feed healthy to their child and guide them on what he/she should wear or how to be entertained, with the fear that they will think of their own needs before others in the family. Although, elders should allow their descendants to make their own way-of-living by granting the freedom to decide what is that they want to consume, their attire and the way they feel entertained. This will let them be self-dependant and take responsibility for the choices they make. For example, the children should be the one to choose how they want to pass their free time or what they want to wear. As a result, this practice will only help them to become more independent. To conclude, allowing the youngsters to make their own choices may have them thinking for oneself before thinking for others but it will also make them an individual who is capable of making the right decision and sticking by it.