Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people today argue that a huge amount of money is being allocated to the upkeep of older buildings that would be better utilized on modern infrastructure. Although new buildings are more practical, I am of the opinion that old building is indispensable cultural relics. On the one hand, I believe that demolishing low-standard and unimportant old buildings is a beneficial practice. It is true that old buildings used natural materials from the previous several years, meaning that these materials would not long-lasting and not durable for usage. What's more, ancient buildings would not meet today’s safety standards, which could cause undesirable accidents for local people. As a consequence, old buildings may be flattened to give space new buildings with vital functions of modern buildings, namely hospitals, hotels, and offices in a 21st-century metropolis, leading to the development of infrastructures and enhancing the quality of living standards for local people. On the other hand, I believe that old buildings which represent traditional values or serve particular purposes should be preserved. No one could deny that there is a close correlation between many memorable buildings and cultural identity of a nation. It is a matter of fact that the teaching of national literature and history from ancient buildings in person is one of an effective way to enhance greatly insight into the cultural values, historical information and traditional norms in a vivid and lively way, fostering a sense of responsibility and national identity. As a result, an attempt to rebuild and upgrade these old buildings is acclaimed for its contributions to the preservation and protection these buildings' values. In conclusion, despite the aforementioned drawbacks, I believe that ancient buildings ought to be preserved as it is important for a nation’s cultural identity in modern society.