Some people believe that students should be taught international news as a subject at school. Others feel that this would be a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, due to the globalization of the media, every corner of the world is able to receive the latest news. Even though others are in the view that this may take out some precious school time, I opine that portraying international news at the school level has many advantages. In this essay, I shall list down the reasons for my inclination towards it. To begin with, it is necessary that even a school kid should be aware of international happenings. This leads to many benefits to them. Firstly, their general awareness increases, as a result, this can help them participate in any debates related to recent on-goings. Secondly, global news educates them on many inspiring personalities. Hence, hinting how to build their future to be successful. Thirdly, kids will be precautioned about natural disasters. Perhaps, this may educate them on how is the world dealing with those calamities. For example, earthquakes are very common in Japan and how those people deal with it,gives confidence for others and hence make them prepared. Additionally, pupils will get to know the information on on-going events such as sports, Oscars, etc. Moreover, students will come to know the alliances formed between the countries, struggles of the people all over the world and also will have an idea of whether a foreign government is a friend to their own country or not so that they do not use their products extensively. For example, recently India was not in talking-terms with China which resulted in the banning of China products. Some are in the opposite opinion that it is a waste of time because many parents as well as educational organizations are more inclined towards academics and are only interested in making them the toppers. These people are also in the view that the money paid as fees should be used only for training the students on the syllabus. To conclude, teaching international news at the educational institutions will be really helpful for the students to increase their thinking ability which will elevate their capacity. It should never be thought of as a waste of time.