These days' children are surrounded by electronic devices such as personal computers, tablet computers, and smart phones, and they learn to use them at a very early age. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

Smart gadgets have been extensively used in the modern world. Even children are not an exception to this. Using technology from a young age has become an accelerating trend these days. Like in every other case, usage of the electronic devices has both pros and cons to be analyzed. To begin with its advantages, children who play video games on tablets and mobile phones tend to have quick grasping skills. To elaborate, many American educational theories show that youngsters, who are online gamers are smarter in logical thinking than those who do not play. Furthermore, knowing how to operate electronic devices has become essential nowadays, because of the incredible services these technological devices are featuring. For example, certain safety apps on smartphones will come to our rescue in case of emergencies. Thus, the benefits that are offered by these devices helping the young to become smarter. On the flip side of the coin, after the invention of the electronic gadgets, children moved away from physical activities that are frightening. To illustrate, I still remember my childhood days when we played in the ground and enjoyed the tiresome evenings after school while today's youngsters are becoming couch potatoes that have detrimental effects. Many studies have witnessed the major factor for obesity among the younger generation is the addiction to online games on computers and tablets. Moreover, eye problems from young age and disturbance in the sleeping pattern are due to continuous monitoring of the blue screen, which is alarming. Therefore, spending more time on these appliances has more price to pay. To summarize, children using smart devices all the time have counteractive effects that need to be considered. Although it has some benefits, the disadvantages outweigh the positivities. However, limited usage of these appliances under parents' supervision helps the young to attain real progress.