Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Globalization has made every corner of the world taste global cuisine. That is,many food items which are not even grown in our area are dominating our local markets. This leads to the opinion that eating locally available and grown yields are the only way to boost up our environment and economy. In this essay, I would discuss the pros and cons of this issue. On the one hand, there are plenty of advantages of using the common eatables which are available at our markets. Firstly, these will be seen in plenty. Thus people need not pay more money to buy these things. Secondly, by encouraging these items we will be helping the farmers of our country. As a result, their product is in plenty of demand and they will have work to do. Last but not the least, these easily available eatables do not require to be stored. Hence, by decreasing the usage of fridge storage we are also helping the environment. For example, leafy vegetables need not be stored, as we can easily get them from any vegetable shop near our home. On the other hand, there are also cons for totally controlling the use of foreign products.By doing this, we will not be able to taste the cuisine of different countries. In addition, some items are very much healthy but they won't be grown in our local markets. Thus we may lose some healthy items. For example, broccoli which is a foreign vegetable gives us many health benefits but is not available in our local market, so we need to get it from foreign countries and store it and use it. To conclude, I opine the advantages of using the locally available eatables are dominating the foreign products, hence to save our environment and economy, I suggest to go for these in-hand foods and decrease the use of foreign foods.