Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, an interesting phenomenon has occurred on the internet: social media has grown as the most used tool among all others. While some people argue that this can cause massive havoc in the community and in each person, others disagree. I tend to agree with the former opinion and I will support my view with arguments in this essay. There is no doubt that we spend most of our online time watching others profiles on facebook, instagram, tik tok among others similar platforms. The bright side of this behavior is that these tools allow us to see how an estimated fellow is feeling, even if this person is far away from where we are. In addition, it is possible to instantly communicate with a beloved one or a very old friend. Had we only used these apps for this noble purpose, we would not have been facing any trouble at all. However, hardly do we use them as mentioned. Actually, most of the period that one spends on them is filled by the pointless act of scrolling the news feed without paying attention to them. As a result, when a person is asked about the content of what they were watching on their screens often they can not recall anything. Recently, an addiction to social networking apps has been reported by some researchers. Our behavior on these platforms is fed by the reward center. To illustrate this ideia, it is interesting to see how we react when someone likes our post. It gives us an instant pleasure that we keep seeking over and over again. As a result, when we are far away from our online devices do we develop what is called FOMO: fear of missing out, which is characterized by the concern of either not being aware of a new post or receive feedback from their followers. In fact, this became a huge business of concern of lecturers all over the world. Had we not let ourselves be deluded by this false joy, maybe we would not have been in such a depression wave in our society. To sum up, I strongly believe that despite the potential benefits that social network sites might proportionate, it is paramount that we control either the time we spend on them and how we do it.