Many companies use advertising to increase sales. What are the main reasons that make advertisement effective? Is it good or bad thing for the society?

It is true that a number of companies boost their sales by using advertisements. In my opinion, the impacts of advertising on society are largely positive and for an advert to be successful, it has to meet certain criteria. In general, hiring celebrities as brand ambassadors is a great way to make commercials more effective. Famous personalities can instantly lend credibility to the product they advertise and encourage more and more people to buy. Targeting the right audience and choosing the right platform to air the ads are equally important. For example, social media is a great channel to reach millennials and gen Z. Likewise, products designed for kids should be advertised on kids’ channels. When targeted advertising is coupled with irresistible offers and prices, products will fly off the shelves and earn huge profits for the advertised company. Advertising not only boosts sales; it also benefits society in many ways. For example, the advertising industry employs tens of thousands of people. Public service ads often promote great causes and contribute their bit to make the world a better place. In addition, adverts make people aware of the new inventions and innovations that make their lives more comfortable. Some promotions may even become a part of history and collective memory. For example, the large billboard in the centre of Times Square in New York City has become a symbol of the city and attracts numerous tourists from all over the world. In conclusion, a captivating advertisement could make a company more competitive in the market, and in my opinion, advertising is largely beneficial because it creates job opportunities and makes people aware of the new products in the market.