Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that there are not the only reasons why someone should learn foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that there are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. I strongly believe that it is extremely important to learn a foreign vocabulary to travel or work but there could be more. Firstly, travellers could benefit from knowing the local language as they could connect more easily with locals, in addition, they might be able to find hidden places that are unknown by tourists. Moreover, if they know the local slang they might be able to search for help more effectively in case of accident compared to people that don't understand or speak the local idiom. Furthermore, they could create a network of friends from all over the world and this is one of the goals of most travellers. Workers could also benefit from knowing the local idiom as they could improve their working position and search for new business opportunities as they will know more about the culture of that country. Also, some people might learn a foreign terminology just to satisfy their curiosity or because they feel attracted by that specific culture. Nowadays as the internet is more accessible worldwide, it's easier to study online than it was years ago, also it's easier compared to apply for a dialect course. To cite an example, I studied and learned the basic of Russian online, that gave me the opportunity to meet and know a lot of people that are actually my friends during my travels to Russia. To sum up, I believe that travelling is extremely important for people, although it's more important that people try to learn foreign languages as they could know more about other cultures. In my opinion,both schools and governments should take severe measures in order to tackle this problem, allowing students easy and cheap access to online lessons. By doing this, children might be more motivated and they could improve their lifestyle.