Some people say that all popular TV entertainment programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the era of the digital and social media channel, a lot of recreational programs and entertaining contents have been becoming prevalent for audiences to unwind after hectic schedules. While some people would argue that changes should be implemented to shift entertainment purposes towards current affairs, I hold a belief that both purposes can be promoted simultaneously, yet in different ways. On the one hand, it might be beneficial if information related to social affairs is incorporated in popular TV entertainment programs in engaging and captivating ways. A lot of people believe that the importance of being updated social issues, including crime, environmental problems, and corruptions occurring on their daily life via the media channel, could allow them to be more aware of potential risks and threats as well as solve the problems by taking actions, whether it is putting pressure on the authorities or participating in social campaigns. As a result, they can proactively protect themselves from possible dangers and improve the quality of their living standards. On the other hand, I believe that such an idea might be counter-effective. When a majority of viewers seek to TV programs to entertain and enjoy after higher expectations, and working or studying pressure in a fast-paced world, a switch towards social affairs can lose viewership and not compromise the viewer’s entertainment. However, I believe that the form of vivid videos and images via social media platforms such as Facebook and Instagram where can reach a large proportion of viewers could deliver social problems instead of using TV entertaining programs. Such a practice is able to respect viewers’ choice instead of putting a compulsory on their own preferences, meaning catering for a wider range of needs for viewers. In conclusion, it seems unfeasible to transform entertainment TV programmes into social issues’ ones because they would bring distinct benefits in modern society. I am also convinced that social networking platforms could be an effective way to educate the public about social issues and ensure a sense of pastimes.