Some people believe that students should be taught international news as a subject at school. Others feel that this would be a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the past few years, the news network has burgeoned worldwide through media and the internet. While some people advocate that global news should be a part of the coursework of school children, others believe that its advantages will be outweighed by the consequence of time wastage. It is normally witnessed that the school children bear the burden of a plethora of subjects at their school level. This is because the basic learning skills and concepts are taught and polished at this stage, which come into use in colleges and universities. As a result, they usually undergo a massive amount of mental stress in their learning period. To substantiate this statement, the survey conducted by Higher Education Commission in Pakistan showed that over 47% of teenagers studying in schools in 2019 had become deprived of their physical wellness due to the exertions they put on their mind while studying. Therefore, including a subject that predominantly teaches major affairs happening around the world can be a time-wasting factor which might make the life of a school student more difficult than it already is. On the other hand, international news is considered to be a major source of knowledge and a tool of wisdom for youngsters. It evidently increases the knowledge of important subjects like world politics and international tourism. This knowledge ultimately increases the I.Q of a person, which can lead to a successful future in a career. For Example, school management in California added international news as a subject for the students in 1990, which lead to an employment figure of 99% of their graduates. This achievement was never seen before for any other school during that time. Hence, it can be said that including a subject that teaches world news might lead to a brighter career. Looking at both sides, including a news subject might put more mental stress on school children, but can result in higher career growth. In my opinion, international news should become part of college education rather than school education because education in colleges is comparatively less challengeable than in schools.