In recent years children have been given more freedom than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The significance of giving freedom to the children has always been debatable and people hold varied perceptions about it. When compared to the olden days, children are given more independence in the modern days.I believe that this phenomenon has both merits and demerits which will be discussed in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, giving more independence to the children can have adverse effects on them. To put in other words, if children are allowed to do as their wish, they might at a certain point of time take it as an advantage and end up harming themselves. For example, young people who are allowed to follow their dreams sometimes may take a wrong pathway and spoil their whole career. Therefore, teenagers should be monitored from time to time so that they do not cross their limits at any circumstances. On the contrary, if young children are given the freedom, they will follow their ambitions without being in any kind of pressure from their parents or society. To exaggerate, the sky is the limit for them. They not only achieve something in their life but also make their parents proud. For instance, the CEO of the reliance company Mr Anil Ambani expressed in one of his interviews that his parents trusted him and allowed him to follow his dreams because of which he succeeded in his life. Moreover, teenagers will be able to take risks in their life which ultimately improves their decision-making skills and problem-solving skills. Hence, when children are given an opportunity, it will certainly benefit them as well as society. To summarise, although giving freedom to young people may sometimes have negative effects, it certainly is beneficial to both children and parents. I think if freedom is utilised in the correct way, they will come up with flying colours in their life.